GranolaLyfe

I woke up this morning and was the only one awake and I got to enjoy the sun room and some quite time with Jesus for about 2 hours before the house woke up. Slowly my mom and sister started walking around and getting ready for the day and before my friend came over to read Psalms I decided I wanted to make homemade granola for breakfast. It was an incredible slow and sweet morning.

I decided to make my own granola because,

Store bought granola wrecks me….

For some reason I have never felt completely at ease with buying granola…there are always a whole bunch of ingredients added into it that just aren’t really necessary and 15 grams of sugar in 1/4 cup of granola is crazy. No body needs that I’m sorry but breakfast is the first meal you eat and it shouldn’t be made up of mostly sugar. I was able to come up with a crazy simple recipe after looking through some basic whole oat granola recipes. And yes, Kate is a genius and this recipe was inspired by her.  I saw how simple her recipe was and ran with it.

 

Here is my rendition of the recipe,

 

Easy and clean Granola

Ingredients

  • 4 cups of whole rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup of avocado oil
  • 1/2 cup of raw sliced almonds
  • 1 cup of raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1 Tablespoon of Cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup of raw honey
  • 1/4 cup of dried fruit

 

Prep/cook

  1. Set oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit
  2. Place wax paper on a cookie sheet
  3. Mix oats with all other ingredients in a large bowl
  4. Taste….because trust me you want to
  5. Spread mix onto pan (covered in wax paper)
  6. Bake for 27 Minutes (or until brown and slightly crunchy)
  7. Let granola cool for at least 10 minutes after baking
Leave a Reply

